First, O Reader, an update on the plants! They have grown so much! There are two sunflowers, a squash, and a cucumber that have exploded into growth so tall that we can’t keep the top on their little plastic tray anymore. They’ve expanded their horizons! We’re going to try sunlight with them next.

The tall one near my palm is a sunflower, the little ones in the row next to the two are lettuce, then chard, then cucumber, with snap peas in the back right corners.


See! They’re all so tall. They just need to get stronger and wait for the weather to warm up a little before they can go on to the next adventure – the great outdoors! We’re going to have to find a way to keep them safe from nefarious deer and clever little ninjas- I mean squirrels. We’ll probably armor them up with chicken wire. That should help, right? Hopefully, they won’t need lances to go jousting or anything.

 

Rawr, I’m a little dragon! I super believe in all my little Tad Coopers. *Galavant shout out*

The snapdragons are very cute right now, small like the chamomile. I’m wondering which one will shoot up faster. I can’t wait to see all the colors. They’ll be my fierce little defenders, but we’ll keep them inside the walls of their own little castle.

This little dude is the one who decided to grow upside down. It hasn’t taken its little coat off and decided to stay yet, but it’s growing strong so far. I don’t think it minded starting off the wrong way.


These are the Plants for Pollinators. I don’t think they’ve figured out which way the sun is yet. They’re all over! But I am going to have to find them a bigger space soon, since they’re springing out everywhere. Some of the little strands are getting pretty tall.

In short. The plants are growing so well!

And now…

To turn over a new leaf!

This has been my second major art project. I am making my wedding dress out of paper. Yes, I have been told how crazy this is. But I’m finding really cool ways of manipulating the paper into something like fabric, and it’s going to be unique to how my sewing and paper-crafting technique or something. It’s mostly a cool idea.

I recently figured out how to make the bodice actually curve in a way that isn’t stiff and weak. I’ve been putting together little hearts like the ones my mom taught me to make for Valentine’s day when I was younger. You cut out the two little half oval things, cut lines up the folded flat side, and then weave them together. It turns out like this:

I’m using Chaucer, since he’s one of my favorite writers. I just really like the idea of having the Canterbury tales with all of its elegance and lowness and humor and piety as part of the dress. I’m planning on adding in pages from Dante, and some other classics as I go, as well as some fairy tales. I think the pages will represent a lot of different facets of my personality. Or at least, a lot of the different facets of things I like to read.

This is the inside of the corset-bodice I’ve made. I’ve layered the inside with paper so it won’t be abrasive on my skin since part of the structure is held together with wire, not thread.These next couple of pictures show the ribbing of the corset. They’re made out of the cardboard of a science book about cells and things that make up the biologic matter. The covering over them is a book on public speaking. I kind of like the idea that the boning in the corset is made of a book talking about the ‘building blocks of life’ or something.

This is a side view, that shows a bit of the construction of the curves. You can see a bit of the wiring on the basic structure. I thought the cardboard would be flimsy, but it’s actually remarkable strong. I have fabric corsets that aren’t as structured as this is. You can see how I’ve been trying to make the paper work like fabric; I’m thinking if I layer the woven hearts like scale mail, it’ll work a bit better.

This is the front of the corset. I haven’t covered it completely. The double layer of the “busk” has a cool pattern how I had to overlap the paper. I’m excited for how the layers are going to build up and get stronger as I start placing the hearts.

Cicero said, “If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need.” Or something like that. Translation is a problematic working of the words into nonsense and back from word salad again. More on that later, at some point. But, I think between the plants and the pages, I’ll have enough leaves to keep me busy for a while.

Wish me luck in the garden!

